Woman in wheelchair in a nursing home
The Information You Need
to Make Decisions That Matter
The Nursing Home Law Center is committed to providing the
legal resources necessary to hold negligent facilities accountable.
About the Nursing Home Law Center

The focus of the Nursing Home Law Center is to provide information to families so they can make informed decisions about their loved ones. Frequently, this means reporting on issues involving medical and legal developments in the area of nursing home negligence.

We invite you to browse the material in this ‘news’ section, where we have a virtual encyclopedia related to skilled nursing facilities and elder care.

Should you have any questions about this content or a situation involving a family member, please contact us. All consultations are free and confidential.

Our attorneys have experience representing families across the United States in matters involving abuse and neglect. Put our expertise to work for you.


Nursing Home Law News specializes in assisting victims of nursing home negligence and misconduct. We take great care and spend significant resources for each and every case because they mean so much to our clients.

The accidents take an extraordinary toll on their mental, physical, and financial lives so it’s important to get it right. Normally, the most common kinds of scenarios that trigger nursing home lawsuits in California are falls, bed sores, medical errors, abuse, or inadequate care.

Incidents in nursing homes are so complicated because their residents are usually suffering from numerous health problems. Nursing facilities are not only caretakers but medical providers as well. Thus, they have the potential to really injure residents if they make a medical error.

This is unfortunately what happens in many cases. Here we provide summaries of some California lawsuits that arose because the nursing home committed various medical mistakes and harmed their residents.

$10,200,000 VERDICT:

Our elderly population deserves respect and dignity. Sadly, many of them are abused in an environment where they should expect the most protection and comfort: nursing homes. Time and again, we see victims of California nursing home abuse because of the actions of facility staff or other residents.

They are physically, mentally, sexually, and even financially abused in some circumstances.

To help you understand the problems that they are facing in these kinds of institutions, review the following case summaries involving alleged abusive care at California nursing facilities and call our offices if you have any questions.

Nursing homes have been flooded with a wave of new residents in recent years. It makes sense that there will be some need to catch up.

However, this should not detract from their responsibility to provide consistent and quality care.

Unfortunately, in many instances, nursing homes are failing to meet this standard and are delivering inadequate care.

Medical Errors in Nursing HomesNursing home residents are some of the sickest, oldest, and clumsiest members of society. Thus, it makes sense that they would get into accidents and that is just a part of life. What should not be a part of life is their caretakers messing up their medical needs.

Yet, in New Mexico and other places around America, that is increasingly what is happening as more people move into care facilities and these residents live to older ages than previously seen.

Here are some summaries of New Mexico verdicts and New Mexico settlements that detail medical errors:

Inadequate Care in New Mexico Nursing FacilitiesAs more people decide that they need to enter a nursing home, facilities are pushed to capacity and exhaustion (of both personnel and resources). While it shouldn’t be the case in the best circumstances, it normally is the case in reality that we see a falloff in care.

Medications get missed. Treatments are forgotten. Residents are neglected.

However, the added pressure homes have is no excuse for inadequately caring for nursing residents because it’s exactly why they were admitted in the first place.

Falls in Nursing Homes in New MexicoThough ubiquitous throughout New Mexico nursing homes, falls are still a serious problem that often needs to be addressed in a court of law or private negotiation room. They’re so common because residents can fall from virtually any spot in the facility: bed, chair, toilet, and many other spots.

As frequent as falls are, they are just as expensive. Residents commonly rack up thousands in doctors’ bills, prescription costs, and rehabilitation treatments.

Therefore, it’s important to know more about this problem and here are some New Mexico verdicts and settlements that address falls in facilities.

Bed sore cases in New MexicoBed sores are one of the most common and deadly problems literally running through New Mexico nursing homes. They are frequently referred to as decubitus ulcers or pressure sores as well.

While they start off as small and innocuous blisters or dry spots, they can quickly turn into a ravaging and fatal condition. Normally arising from extended pressure or friction, they are hard to keep away from residents that cannot move around and are confined to a bed or wheelchair.

Here are some New Mexico nursing home lawsuit summaries that focus on bed sores.

Falls in Maryland Nursing HomesOver and over again, nursing home residents fall down and are seriously injured. They fall off beds; they fall off wheelchairs; they fall off toilets; they fall off countless other surfaces.

And it’s costly: medical bills; broken bones; disability; long-term pain. To counter the effects of fall accidents, facilities normally conjure up some program of policies and procedures to prevent them from occurring but as you can imagine they don’t always work.

Here are some Maryland nursing home lawsuits that focus on falls:

Bed Sores in Maryland Nursing HomesThey might seem common and a mere trifle but if they take hold bed sores can become a serious and even deadly problem. Maryland nursing home residents contract bed sores at an alarming rate (they are also referred to as decubitus ulcers or pressure sores).

Generally, residents develop them through sustained periods of sitting or laying down because the pressure impacts and breaks the skin. Then, if left untreated, they can affect muscles, bones as well as other body parts close by and even your entire life if the area becomes infected.

To help you understand the topic of bed sores in greater detail, we have assembled some Maryland nursing home lawsuit summaries below:

Justia Lawyer Rating for Jonathan Rosenfeld

Client Reviews

Jonathan did a great job helping my family navigate through a lengthy lawsuit involving my grandmother's death in a nursing home. Through every step of the case, Jonathan kept my family informed of the progression of the case. Although our case eventually settled at a mediation, I really was impressed at how well prepared Jonathan was to take the case to trial. Lisa
After I read Jonathan’s Nursing Home Blog, I decided to hire him to look into my wife’s treatment at a local nursing home. Jonathan did a great job explaining the process and the laws that apply to nursing homes. I immediately felt at ease and was glad to have him on my side. Though the lawsuit process was at times frustrating, Jonathan reassured me, particularly at my deposition. I really felt like Jonathan cared about my wife’s best interests, and I think that came across to the lawyers for the nursing home. Eric
Contact Information