The elderly citizens of the United States are some of our most vulnerable citizens, and it is important that we do all that is possible to protect them. Family members frequently assume that placing elderly citizens in nursing homes is in their best interest, only to find out about horrific instances of abuse, neglect and exploitation months later. There are ways to prevent your loved one from ever being a victim of this type of behavior by paying attention to the warning signs of abuse, researching a nursing home before enrollment and being in touch with the State Ombudsman Office.
In Wyoming, researchers discovered severe deficiencies in nursing homes in 2008. That year, over 53 percent of nursing homes were discovered to have an accident-prone environment. Over 56 percent of nursing homes were discovered to have issues with food sanitation. Over 61 percent of nursing homes had severe problems with maintaining professional standards. One of the worst and most prevalent forms of abuse was indicated by the fact that over 38 percent of nursing homes regularly dispensed unnecessary drugs to nursing home residents. If your loved one has been harmed in a Wyoming nursing home, then it is time for you to assert the rights of your loved one with help from a nursing home neglect law firm in Wyoming.
Federal and State Nursing Home Laws
There are numerous federal and state nursing home laws in place to provide protections for a loved one. Unfortunately, the mere existence of these laws is not enough to end the widespread nature of abuse and neglect in Wyoming nursing homes. Administrators seem to think that they can skirt around these laws and continue to hire inadequate staff to carry on with daily operations. Nursing home lawyers will help you to understand the Adult Protective Services and Central Registry of Adult Protection Cases Act.
If family members are thinking about filing a lawsuit against a nursing home facility, then they should know that there is only a limited period of time to file a claim. For nursing home negligence claims, there is only a period of two to four years from the date of discovering an injury in which family members may file a claim. There is no cap on the damages that individuals may receive in nursing home negligence cases. For wrongful death claims, family members only have a period of two years in which to file a legal claim. There is also no cap on the total amount of damages that family members may receive in a wrongful death action. Compensation may be received for the funeral expenses, medical expenses and other injuries that have been suffered by a deceased loved one.
Learn About Signs and Symptoms of Elder Abuse
Knowing the signs and symptoms of elder abuse can empower family members to take action in protecting loved ones. Typically, there are emotional side effects when one is suffering from physical abuse or being harmed in some other way. You should pay attention to whether a loved one desires to be isolated from friends and family members during visits. This could be a sign that he or she is trying to hide abuse from others. In addition, nursing home residents frequently develop severe anxiety, depression, shyness and other different behaviors when they are being victimized in an abusive situation. They may also try to deny that any abuse or wrongdoing has taken place.
Family members should also be aware that there may be physical signs of abuse, and they may be the following:
- Open wounds and bleeding
- Scratches, red marks and bruising
- Broken or fractured limbs
- Vomiting, diarrhea and digestion issues
- Development of bedsores and ulcers
Discuss Your Case with Wyoming Nursing Home Lawyers Today
Do not wait any longer to get in touch with a nursing home neglect firm in Wyoming to receive help for your loved one. A nursing home neglect law firm in Wyoming will be able to file your legal claim or start the negotiation process with the administration of a nursing home. Our attorneys want to help families throughout Wyoming in areas such as:
- Rock Springs
Our lawyers are available to meet with family members who have loved ones that have been seriously injured in abusive situations. Call us now for a free initial consultation of your legal claim.
Nursing Home Negligence
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS
- 4 years with Discovery Rule. (Wyo. Stat. Ann. §1-3-105)
- Medical malpractice – 2 years from act, error, or omission or two years after discovery, where claimant failed to discover the alleged act, error, or omission within the two year period despite due diligence. Minors must bring claim by eighth birthday or within 2 years of act or omission, whichever period is greater. Claimants with a legal disability must bring suit within 1 year from removal of disability. (Wyo. Stat. Ann. §1-3-107)
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS
- 2 years from date of death. (Wyo. Stat. Ann. §1-38-102(d))
- None. (Wyo. Const. Art. 10, §4)
- Wyoming Department of Health
- Adult Protective Services, Aging Division
- Adult Protective Services and Central Registry of Adult Protection Cases – (Wyo. Stat. Ann. §§35-20-101 – 116)