Connecticut Nursing Home Abuse Attorneys

Connecticut Nursing Homes Ratings
Click to Enlarge

In Connecticut, nursing home abuse is a rampant problem. It is becoming more and more difficult for family members to find a caring nursing home facility for their loved ones. According to a research study conducted by the University of California-San Francisco, there were only three percent of nursing homes that contained no deficiencies in 2008. This means that 97 percent of all nursing homes in Connecticut have serious problems in regards to understaffing, nursing home abuse and neglect of residents. Family members must keep close watch of loved ones who are currently in nursing homes in Connecticut, because it is likely that there are deficiencies in that particular facility.

Even more tragic, statistics from the UCSF research study indicate that 39 percent of all nursing home residents were the victims of actual harm and abuse in 2008. This is a very high number in comparison with other states, and family members must be aware of the health condition of a loved one in a nursing home at all times. A nursing home attorney can help family members end the abusive treatment and take an assertive role in protecting the legal rights of a loved one. If you suspect that a loved one is the victim of nursing home abuse, then you can report nursing home abuse in Connecticut and speak with a nursing home lawyer who will help you.

State Nursing Home Care Laws in Connecticut

Connecticut Nursing Home Abuse AttorneysFamily members should be aware that they only have 2 years to file an action for injury to a loved one. The Connecticut Statute of Limitations begins to run from the date in which one first discovers the injuries on a loved one. There is no damages cap for actions involving injuries caused by professional negligence. In addition, family members may also wish to consider filing a wrongful death claim for abuse or neglect that has resulted in the tragic loss of a loved one. In Connecticut, a wrongful death claim may be filed within 2 years from the date of death. There is also no damages cap for wrongful death actions.

Nursing home abuse is a serious situation for any family member to deal with, and protections for Connecticut nursing home residents been codified into law as a result. Chapter 319dd is the governing authority for protective services of the elderly, and it maintains that any suspicion of abuse, neglect, exploitation or abandonment must be reported to protective services. This means that family members must report any suspicions of abuse or neglect that they may have, and it also binds nursing home professionals to reporting these suspicions as well. Nurses, medical examiners, any nursing home staff person and physical therapists all have a legal obligation to report any suspicions of abuse or neglect that they may have.

Signs of Nursing Home Neglect

There are certain signs of nursing home neglect that can alert family members and nursing home workers that a resident is a victim of neglect or abuse. Family members and nursing home workers have a legal obligation to report the following signs of nursing home neglect:

  • Unexplained bruises and abrasions
  • Bed Sores
  • Fractured or broken bones
  • Skin discoloration
  • Infections
  • Weight Loss
  • Constant anxiety and fear
  • Lashing out at family members and friends
  • Emotional distance

Under Connecticut laws, the failure to report any signs of this abuse results in a class C misdemeanor for a first offense or class A misdemeanor for subsequent offenses. When abuse is reported, the regional ombudsmen’s office will investigate an abuse report.


Help Your Loved One Today with Connecticut Nursing Home Lawyers

Connecticut nursing home lawyers are here to help you at every stage of the process of reporting abuse. Don’t allow your loved one to be one of the 39 percent of all victims who suffer from nursing home abuse in Connecticut every year. Our lawyers are here to help families and residents throughout the State of Connecticut in such areas as:

Call a Connecticut nursing home attorney to receive the help that you need to file a legal claim.

Nursing Home Negligence


  • 2 years from date of act or discovery. (§52-584 – Limitation of action for injury to person or property caused by negligence, misconduct, or malpractice.)
  • Medical malpractice – 2 years from date of injury or discovery.(§52-584 – Limitation of action for injury to person or property caused by negligence, misconduct, or malpractice.)


  • None.
Wrongful Death


  • 2 years from date of death. (§52-555 – Actions for injuries resulting in death.)


  • None.
State Resources Nursing Home Care State Law Related Articles
Client Reviews
Jonathan did a great job helping my family navigate through a lengthy lawsuit involving my grandmother's death in a nursing home. Through every step of the case, Jonathan kept my family informed of the progression of the case. Although our case eventually settled at a mediation, I really was impressed at how well prepared Jonathan was to take the case to trial. Lisa
After I read Jonathan’s Nursing Home Blog, I decided to hire him to look into my wife’s treatment at a local nursing home. Jonathan did a great job explaining the process and the laws that apply to nursing homes. I immediately felt at ease and was glad to have him on my side. Though the lawsuit process was at times frustrating, Jonathan reassured me, particularly at my deposition. I really felt like Jonathan cared about my wife’s best interests, and I think that came across to the lawyers for the nursing home. Eric