Arkansas Nursing Home Abuse Attorneys

Arkansas Nursing Home Attorneys

When your loved one has been the victim of negligence in Arkansas, it is important to be proactive and get help as soon as possible. Nursing home abuse lawyers can meet your needs and provide you with professional legal advice to represent your loved one in a negligence case. The Nursing Home Reform Act and Arkansas statutes currently govern nursing home negligence cases in the state.

Know Nursing Home Resident Rights

If your loved one is in a nursing home, it is important for you to know about the rights that he or she has under federal and state law. If nursing home professionals fail to protect these rights or violate them in some way, then you may have a private cause of action against a nursing home facility. The following are a list of the rights that nursing home residents in Arkansas have:

  • Right to good care and safety
  • Right to live in clean premises
  • Right to be free from drugs that alter one’s behavior for no medically-related reason
  • Right to have a say in one’s plan of care
  • Right to be free from involuntary seclusion
  • Right to privacy and to have confidential medical records
  • Right to maintain one’s personal belongings in a nursing home without interference

If nursing home professionals do not treat your loved one with the utmost care, respect and dignity, then you have a right to file a complaint on behalf of your loved one.

Signs of Injuries of Your Loved One

If you begin noticing injuries on your loved one, then you will only have a period of three years to get in touch with an attorney from the date of discovery of injuries. Arkansas has a three-year Discovery Rule, and private causes of action for negligence or wrongful death must be filed within this period of time.


There may be physical signs of nursing home abuse on a loved one, such as burns, abrasions, bruising, open wounds, infections or scratches. In addition, nursing home residents may show signs of exploitation or emotional abuse. If a loved one is withdrawn, shows signs of sadness, has high anxiety levels or communicates feelings of isolation, then he or she may be the victim of emotional abuse of a nursing home staff member. Family members should also pay attention to subtle signs of abuse which may include lost or stolen personal items, strange behaviors, frequent illness, heavy sedation or an inability to express one’s self around nursing home staff members.

Contact An Arkansas Nursing Home Lawyer Who Can Help You

Every nursing home professional has a legal obligation to deliver care to nursing home residents, and serious issues arise when this obligation is not met. Our attorneys are here to help families and residents throughout the State of Arkansas in such areas as:

If you suspect that a loved one has been the target of nursing home abuse, neglect or exploitation, then get in touch with a nursing home lawyer today. Nursing home law firms can schedule a free consultation appointment to discuss your loved one’s situation today.


1. AR Medicard patient rights-

Nursing Home Negligence


  • 3 years with Discovery Rule. (Arkansas Code, Title 16 (Practice, Procedure, and Courts) Subtitle 5 (Civil Procedure Generally), Chapter 56 (Limitations of Actions), Subchapter 1 (General Provisions – §16-56-105 – Actions with limitation of three years)
  • Medical malpractice – 2 years from date of malpractice.  If discovery of foreign object occurs after 2 years, plaintiff has 1 additional year to bring claim.  Minors under age nine have until age eleven.  (Arkansas Code, Title 16 (Practice, Procedure, and Courts), Subtitle 7 (Particular Proceedings and Remedies), Chapter 114 (Malpractice Actions), Subchapter 2 (Actions for Medical Injury) – §16-114-203 – Statute of Limitations)


  • None. Arkansas Constitution, Article 5 (Legislative Department, Section 32 (Workmen’s Compensation Laws – Actions for personal injuries))

Wrongful Death


  • 3 years. (Arkansas Code, Title 16 (Practice, Procedure, and Courts) Subtitle 5 (Civil Procedure Generally), Chapter 62 (Survival and Abatement of Actions) §16-62-102 – Wrongful death actions – Survival)


  • None. Arkansas Constitution, Article 5 (Legislative Department, Section 32 (Workmen’s Compensation Laws – Actions for personal injuries)

Client Reviews

  • Having worked in the medical field, I appreciated the way that Mr. Rosenfeld and his staff approached my family’s situation. The combination of medical knowledge and legal expertise was indeed the winning combination for our case.
  • While nothing can change the way our mother was treated at a nursing facility, I do feel a sense of vindication that the facility was forced to pay for their treatment. I am certain that they would never have done had my attorneys not held their feet to the fire.
  • I was very nervous about initiating a claim against my mother’s nursing facility, but Rosenfeld Injury Lawyers took care of everything from getting the medical records to going to court. I felt like I had real advocates on my side. That meant a lot to me.
  • After a horrific episode at a nursing home, my sister and I spoke to a number of law firms. No one took the time to answer our questions and explain the legal process like Mr. Rosenfeld. He did a tremendous job on our case and I can see why he’s earned the praise he has from clients and peers.
  • I liked the fact that I could call the office and ask questions about the legal process at anytime. I could tell that my case was in good hands. I think that this was reflected in my father’s settlement was more than I anticipated the case ever being worth.